About Us

North Carolina’s electric cooperatives provide reliable, safe and affordable energy and related services to more than 950,000 households and businesses in 93 of North Carolina’s 100 counties. Each of the 26 cooperatives is member-owned, not-for-profit and overseen by a board of directors elected by the membership.

You can download a printable version of the service territory map of North Carolina’s electric cooperatives.

Learn more about the Electric cooperative difference by watching this fast-action, hand-drawn guide to the history, structure and purpose of electric cooperatives. Click here to view the video on YouTube.